Nine Inch Nails

Browse Reviews!

 
Band Summary

Average User Rating 9.35
Total Reviews 4
Last Reviewed August 20th, 2006
 
All Concert Photos (click to enlarge)


2008-12-27 21:44:55

2008-12-27 21:44:55

2008-12-27 21:44:55

All User Reviews
 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
Kicked ass, even in the rain!
Venue/Date: Merriweather Post Pavilion (Columbia, MD)
Concert Date:  
June 9th, 2009
Reviewer: Lee M.

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
9.32
Hopefully NIN is not really calling it quits. This was supposedly their last show in the area so I guess they were being extra insane that night to jsut leave a lasting impression. It worked! The music was tight and the lighting was downright creepy. I will surely miss this band.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
BLOWN AWAY!
Venue/Date: Schottenstein Center (Columbus, OH)
Concert Date:  
November 17th, 2008
Reviewer: StellarNina

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
9.66
This was my second NIN show. Our seats were KILLER. The section we were supposed to be sitting in was closed off due to the fact they had to extend the stage out, so we had to go and trade out tickets in.... which really, resulted in being even better seats. The visual effects were astounding. Exciting too. They had 3 main HUGE screens, which were constantly changing. At one point, everyone but Josh moved to the very front of the stage and had one of the screens directly behind them, giving a real cool silouette type of look. During "Only" one of the screens was just complete static pretty much... while singing the first verse, Trent would kind-of lean/walk towards a certain section and it would clear to where you could see him. Then he would back up, it would all turn to static again, then he'd pop up again on another part of the screen, doing the same thing. Then when the chorus kicked in the screen cleared out into a sideways oval, giving the crowd a view of the entire band. The Frail live is so unbelievably beautiful and powerful. After hearing The Frail, my mind is always like programmed to hear The Wretched next. But no, to my suprise they went straight into Closer after The Frail. During Closer, there was a trippy video going of a close up of Trent's lips/mouth singing the first verse/chorus, I'm pretty sure it was actually like too.... he had went somewhere behind Alessandro (or in that area) and it appeared like he was filming it, if that makes sense. after a bit into the song the video zooms out a bit to like shoulders and up of Trent..... Towards the end of the set, I'm wanting to say during "Head Like A Hole", (bc that was the last song before the encore) right before the song finished, Trent chucked the mic stand into one of the screens and broke the fuck out of it.... there was a big visible crack. Then after a few mins he said something like "We don't bang shit around as often as we used to anymore, but when we do.... we really do" and kind-of chuckled. He also mentioned checking out Boris at one point too, who was their opening act. Said Boris was a very inspiring band for them, and that they have ALOT of albums, to do some research and check them out. Honestly, I couldn't really get into Boris. They were a japanese experimental/a bit of industrial rock band. I mean, it was good music for it's style, and I can respect it, but I'm just not really into that style I guess. I decided to take the opportunity to go the a NIN tour shirt while Boris was on too. There was just SOOOOOOOO many incredible aspects to the visual and video effects. And the music was just the icing on the cake.... couldn't have played any better. Ballin setlist too! (Thanks Spider for finding it for me on ETS ) 999,999 1,000,000 Letting You Discipline March of the Pigs Head Down The Frail Closer Gave Up The Warning The Great Destroyer Ghosts 5 Ghosts 17 Ghosts 19 Ghosts Piggy The Greater Good Pinion Wish Terrible Lie Survivalism Ghosts 31 Only The Hand that Feeds Head Like a Hole ************** Echoplex Good Soldier Hurt In This Twilight I'm convinced arena show wise, nothing will top that for me. Not even Tool's laser show a year ago, if that tells you anything.

Was this review helpful to you?      

 
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
Nails Rocked The Roof Off Rupp Arena!!!
Venue/Date: Rupp Arena (Lexington, KY)
Concert Date:  
August 31st, 2008
Reviewer: blugrassboy

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
9.43
Nails is definitely a band you need to see before you die! I waited over ten years for nails to come to ky, and i certainly wasn't let down last night! the opening act, "White Williams," was absolutely horrible. But once nails came on, IT WAS ON! they opened the act with some new nails, the song "1,000,000" to be exact. they played for about 2 & 1/2 hours! the first part of the show was your average show, with lots of intensity. about half way through, the special effects were displayed. For those of you who have seen pink floyd live, nine inch nails made pink floyd's special effects look like a sesame street episode! words cannot describe the effects they used. it was several curtains lights, background, "alien-isk" effects. I have been to over 50 concerts in my life, and NONE compared to last night! they truly do get better as time goes by. Josh Freese was a drumming FOOL! they played old nails, new nails, and even some unreleased nails! they even played some "Ghosts" tracks with some VERY cool special effects! should you get a chance to see them, DO IT! i think trent was a little annoyed that all the seats were not filled, as he commented about it, but it didn't make a difference as they played their hearts out! YOU WILL NOT SEE A BETTER SHOW ANYWHERE, PERIOD!

Was this review helpful to you?      

 
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
NIN is sweet live!
Venue/Date: Post-Gazette Pavilion (Burgettstown, PA)
Concert Date:  
June 30th, 2006
Reviewer: aceshooter

      Venue Parking  
      Venue Security  
      Opening Band  
      Opening Song  
      Set List  
      Band Connection  
      Band Energy/Intensity/Showmanship  
      ConcertGoer Energy/Intensity  
      Sound Quality  
      Set and Lighting Design (SLD)  
      The Finish/Encore  
9.00

Concert Review: Flash overshadows music for Nine Inch Nails

Monday, July 03, 2006
By John Young

Friday night's Nine Inch Nails concert at the Post-Gazette Pavilion provided plenty of good theater for the 9,292 on hand. On occasion the quality of the music matched the visuals, and those few moments brought the show most vividly to life.

Vocalist Peaches set the tone with her raunchy 30-minute opening set. She climbed speaker cabinets, humped a monitor and straddled the barrier between stage and audience to sing into patrons' faces. She also stripped down to her neon pink briefs and bra, accessorized with knee-high boots and a cape labeled XXX, for her final two numbers. She spent much of her final song, its title unprintable, running through the sparse Pavilion crowd to belt out sexually explicit lines she dubbed the "teaches of Peaches."

Little was memorable about the singer's minimalist musical backing, and about half her lyrics were obscured in the mix. The one song that stood out, though, coolly inverted the tag line from Jan and Dean's "Surf City." Instead of "two girls for every boy," Peaches sang about "Two Guys for Every Girl." While just as ribald as her other tunes, "Two Guys" also seemed to make a point about the issues of sexism and control that undercut the ideas in the old beach anthem and other similar male fantasies.

Purveyors of dark rock in the late 1970s and early 80s, Bauhaus has reunited. The band performed Friday as "intimate guests of Trent Reznor, thank you," frontman Peter Murphy noted dryly. Murphy provided dramatic visuals during the quartet's 12 songs, singing under a stage light so bright it turned his face an indistinct white, throwing rose petals over his bandmates as they soloed, and employing a 6-foot stick to lean on, wave at the audience and bash cymbals. While it wasn't yet dark outside, the band made it feel like nighttime with its smoky, stark stage and black-and-white clothes and instruments.

While all that was intriguing to watch, Bauhaus also proved it can still create epic musical landscapes. "She's in Parties" was a sonic marvel, Daniel Ash's guitar work a smear of chiming, buzzing, echoing notes. Murphy even added a hooter solo. "Double Dare" and "Dark Entries" stood out, too, while also pointing out how sorely missed the band's greatest hit, "Bela Lugosi's Dead," was.

Reznor-led Nine Inch Nails put on the most spectacular visual display. The band performed portions of its set behind five metallic screens that looked like giant Venetian blinds. The screens created awesome lighting effects, looking like dripping red lava during "Closer" and later swirling watery-looking tentacles of white light around the band. At one point, red dots on the screens in front of the band and on seven video screens behind it turned from indistinct flying orbs into a tight shot of air bubbles moving in water. Clearly not interested in the traditional visual role of the lead singer in the spotlight, Reznor performed much of the show in deep green, blue and purple shadows that kept his face dark and difficult to see
Read rest of Review Here URL
Click here to read rest of the review

Was this review helpful to you?